“I Never Forgot!” Issue 1, Page 3-4

Spread2“I Never Forgot!” Issue 1, Page 3-4

(<< Previous page) (Introduction) (Next Page >>)

Starting the story now and building a world…

notebook2These two pages went through a lot of work to get them where they are now. Not only were they reversed in the rough draft and linework, but a few of the panels didn’t even look how they do now. A drifter surviving in this post-apocalyptic world. I think the reveal of the zombie arm was much more useful for the turn page rather than the middle of this spread. You’d think making a straight line would be easy enough but I don’t even think I was using standard measuring methods! I’m pretty sure I was using the edge of my notebook to make the straight lines. I got a set of micron pens and started putting down some lines and making panels. I also had this great note that I had Kathleen Rule in mind to help illustrate a few panels. Walking in the woods seemed to be right in her wheelhouse and she makes some gorgeous and articulated trees that would be at home in this world I started building. You can find her art over here on her Instagram page, facebook art page, or even her own personal website.

Her site was actually one of the first artists I found that I wanted to emulate! It was so fresh, clean, and easy to navigate! I also was able to get one of my favorite pieces of art that still hangs on my wall! (“Devouring Stars” – The trouble with devouring stars, there are always strings attached…”) She is such a talented and wonderful artist that I look forward to releasinotebook3ng the first trade with her artwork included and switched out for some of my panels in this first issue!

Some of the tools the drifter uses are shown off too and especially this machete of his! Getting ready to rest near a campfire is nice, but its the unknown out there in the world that the shadows creep across and hide when you close your eyes. These pages are a little difficult for me to look at just because I see how I’d do things differently now but I also appreciate that this is how this whole wild journey started! My pages are looking better and (with the use of a ruler!) my lines are much straighter and with some different values!

RoughSpread2

If you like what you are seeing or just want to get ahead of these pages – The first and second issue are available and the third is soon to be too! You can order them directly from me over here: http://samuraiox.bigcartel.com/

1 thought on ““I Never Forgot!” Issue 1, Page 3-4

  1. Pingback: “I Never Forgot!” Issue 1, Page 5-6 | The Oxen Playground

Leave a comment